In some countries the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation, and discourages private vehicle ownership. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

The introduction of public transport as the main mode of transportation in some parts of the world has been promoted by the government, leading to the discouragement of using private vehicles. In this essay, I will show the merits of using public transport surpass the demerits regarding the environmental and traffic issues. On the one hand, it is undeniable that encouraging society to commute by using public transportation will lead to myriad benefits. Firstly, it may result in an increase in air quality. The particular reason for this circumstance is that people will burn less fuel which exacerbates air pollution. Thus, using buses, trains, trams, or commuter lines might lessen the pollution. Despite this appeal, this action might also combat human-induced global warming owing to the reduction of cars or motorcycles fueled by fuel, coal, or such, which is the underlying factor of climate change itself. Hence, it is the right decision to amend the regulation of commuting by using public transport. On the other hand, private vehicle ownership, by all accounts, can ease private trips or urgent business, if suddenly needed. In this circumstance, people do not need to follow the unnecessary route to reach their destination. For instance, if travelling by train, passengers should pass all the scheduled routes, making them waste their time. However, the use of public transportation might be the best solution for overcoming the pressing problems regarding congestion and traffic-related problems. This actively demonstrates that travelling by public commuters prevents the excessive number of privately owned vehicles on the roads, creating a better flow of traffic. In conclusion, although travelling with private vehicles may shorten the time of driving, using public transport may benefit people in many ways, such as by increasing air quality, preventing global warming, reducing congestion and solving traffic jams.