Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competitive? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times university acceptance rates have not changed significantly while the number of applications is growing exponentially, which makes applying to the educational institution more and more competitive. The main reasons why universities are becoming more and more competitive may be, firstly, a significant increase in the overall literacy level and, secondly, the tremendous availability of different educational courses and non-degree opportunities that push universities to provide more exclusive learning content. In my opinion, the increased competitiveness of university degree is definitely a positive trend in general and in education in particular. First of all, it is said that the more competitive school applicants are applying to the higher quality of education there. Clearly, there is no direct causal relationship, but the most competitive universities are not just like that. As a result, from a student's point of view is increased competitiveness is a kind of guarantee that a school has the best lecturers, the best facilities, and an up-to-date curriculum. Moreover, higher education is becoming more and more expensive, which makes it one of the most substantial investments in life, so getting into a competitive university is a kind of assurance of being employed after graduation. Secondly, the competitiveness of a particular school can be a sign of its graduates' education and competency level. Furthermore, from the employer's,viewpoint it is much easier to find and hire talents from universities that are famous for their strict selection process. As a result, the companies could develop a selection process based on knowledge about the quality of education at a particular university. Finally, increased competition may help university applicants to determine the necessity of higher education at all. Without a doubt, there are a lot of non-degree programs after completion of which it is possible to find a good job either. In conclusion, it is obvious that today applying to university is a long, difficult, financially and mentally demanding process, which makes getting a university degree a more competitive process. Regardless of the fact that in recent years universities are becoming more and more difficult to get into, it shows that the average quality of education is increasing and the overall literacy level is growing either, which are positive signs for society as a whole.