At present the mass media is very influential, and the lives of many people are affected by the news. Why do you think this is happening? Is this a positive or negative development?

The influence of mass media is considered a very useful power, as it can be used to make or destroy someone's career. I believe that with time, news channels have downgraded and are headed towards negative development. This essay will look into why I think media is going towards negative development. Firstly, with the rise in technology, people have started to stop watching news on television and have switched to social media, in a desperate attempt to gain viewership, news channels have started to post clips from social media out of context in order to gain viewership while also defaming someone. This has a huge impact on people as they form opinions based on news from news channels and can create a negative following for the person. For instance, I have seen many actors who have been defamed and their careers tampered with just because of mass media. Secondly, news channels also have the power to make someone's future because of the influence they have, certain news channels are bought by political parties which then use them to promote themselves and spread their ideas to the public. For example, I have seen many politicians which are being broadcasted on news channels for the upcoming elections. Moreover, news channels have also started to spread irrelevant and misinformation which has made them less credentialed over time. To conclude, I think that with the increase of people consuming news from social media, media channels have started to spread irrelevant and misinformation which has changed their trajectory towards negative development.