Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

There are rising voices that demand the legal system to put an end to murderers. However, these are opposed by some activists who think that killing is not accepted even if it was a punishment. There are merits and demerits to this, however, I believe that in modern society, the legal system should not prosecute people to death and should do better than that. Interestingly, there is some logically convincing argument that there are benefits from sentencing criminals to death. Foremost, sentencing a killer to be killed will not just protect the society from their evil actions in future but from others with hidden vicious intentions. In other words, punishing a murderer as such will set an example to others of the great consequences of this horrible act and hence, reduce the crime rate. Moreover, Capital punishment will bring justice to the diseased and to their family as it will assure the family and the society of the effectiveness and the presence of the justice system and that they can rely on. However, the great disadvantages regarding death sentence can not be ignored. Notably, this is an inhumane act and should not be acceptable in modern society where human life, rights, and values are cherished and protected. There are different elements related to this. Firstly, killing the offender will not bring the dead back. indeed, the doer should be punished severely but there are different options that can be considered instead of taking a life such as life sentence. This way, the community can benefit from that person. Moreover, dealing intelligently with this situation will send the message that human lives are valuable can not taken lightly even by authority. Also, who know? people can always repent and change, can not they? In conclusion, Although there are conflicting opinions regarding this critical issue as people can see benefits and drawbacks with it, we as a human should promote mercy, forgiveness, and should deal with such matters with more wisdom and intelligence. Instead of losing two spirits, we may be able to save one soul.