Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competitive? Is this a positive or negative development?

Competition is become part of mankind's life and this can be, even, seen in school admissions as well. Presently, enrolling a graduate course is highly competitive in many ways as the university requires only exceptionally talented students. I, personally, think that it is a positive trend since it definitely produce qualified graduates. One of the main reasons why it is so difficult to get a seat in college is that pupils of these days are highly qualified and all of them prefer to get an admission into a university. Eventually, there may be too many students would apply for the same seat. Similarly, it has been noted that having a degree is considered as a symbol of status, so secondary school pupils also wanted to apply the same. For example, since the government ensures free education for all, after passing school education, all of these students tend to apply in university. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that it is an essential and positive trend. Firstly, this competition makes sure that only talented students get admission in the prestigious educational institution. As a result, employers can easily offer the graduate a well-paid jobs since they already proven that they are good enough. Moreover, problematic students cannot be selected by university and others would be get affected by them. For instance, The Google, a tech giant, offers jobs to graduates from IIT, where students have been selected after successfully passing 2 level exams. In conclusion, currently, getting a seat for any graduation programme is so difficult. However, I, think that it is a progressive trend.