Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little can be done to rectify this.

It is undeniable that the media is one of the best and easiest ways to spread the word, especially using the Internet that makes all of the communication easier and faster than before. So people are heavily influenced by the news on social media. From my point of view, I personally agree with this viewpoint for many reasons, described in the following paragraphs To begin with, in many countries governments use the media to their own advantage and to manipulate attitudes and opinions. For example in North Korea people are strictly limited from exposure to other media except for news and information from the North Korean government, so that this particular government regime can maintain control over the will of its population. Very few people, if any, can seek the truth given that everything in the country not controlled by the government is blocked or at least severely censured. Likewise, some democratic countries also face the same problem, not only in the political sector but also in normal commercial activity and in social media. There are many unethical business groups or political parties in each country that use social media like Facebook, IG (Instagram) or Tiktok to promote their business and at the same time retrieve consumer information that is often archived in databases in order to analyze data and eventually pedal to third parties for a profit. Much of this data can be used to manipulate people as we continue to see in America with Donald Trump selling “The Big Lie”, who was banned from Facebook and Twitter for this very reason. In conclusion, people have been influenced anywhere and everywhere by the media for years with no sign of it letting up. In the era of globalization, politicians, the wealthy and those with hidden agendas pose a great risk of undue influence. But the good news is that careful scrutiny of media content and independent thought can serve as an effective counter to undue media influence.