Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Although death penalty is thought by some to be an appropriate punishment for committing violent crimes, other people consider that it should be abolished in the modern world. In my opinion, the death sentence brings about more problems for the general public, such as a possibility of an innocent person being executed and insufficient damage repayment to the society, compared to any advantages it may bring. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits from people being sentenced to death. Firstly, the state can save money since a lethal injection costs notably less than life imprisonment, which is carried out at the expense of taxpayers. Secondly, it could be argued that the execution preserves law and order in the society by keeping in fear those who would break the law otherwise. For instance, the crime rate is known to be extremely low in countries with implemented judicial execution, such as the USA and Japan. It is a widespread belief that were it not for a possibility of a death warrant, the number of offenses there would exceed significantly. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe that nowadays civilization faces serious drawbacks from a capital punishment. One extremely dangerous issue is the possibility of a wrong person being sentenced to death due to flaws in the judicial system. Not only does such a system disproportionately target people of low social status, but the final sentence also highly depends on the quality of the attorney they can afford. Another obvious issue is that the death penalty is often considered to be insufficient punishment in terms of repairing damage to the community done by the offender. More and more often now the retribution is being earned through hard work in life-long imprisonment, which is known to be the key to prosperity for the whole of society. In conclusion, I am convinced that being unjustly sentenced to death execution as well as lacking retribution to the society far outweighs any of the minor benefits that could result from people committing severe crimes being executed.