In many countries, sports stars earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that sports stars earn too much money, while others claim that they deserve their high salaries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The debate over the salaries of renowned sports people has been controversial hitherto. Whilst some consider them overpaid, I believe the amount of money they make is fully justifiable. As for the former view, some regard athletes' salaries as excessively much since, according to them, there are professions which deserve this more. The first two occupations are doctors as well as policemen. They both jeopardize their lives for the health and peace of the general public. Another group of people, which is claimed to deserve more, is teachers. Not only do they provide the young with knowledge, but also nurture them. Based on these points, a number of people think that sportsmen are not worth of exceptionally high incomes. Inspite of above arguments, I still retain my position in this matter. Those opposers opine in the way they do seeing an incomplete picture of the situation- only its surface. All the sweat, blood, tears, effort and sacrifice put behind the success are overlooked. Moreover, athletes compete not only for their own sake, but also for the reputation along with the economy of their country. A salient example for this could be Conor McGregor. Due to the spirit he has, all the Irish are deemed as both mentally and physically robust. What is more, dozens of tourists pay a visit to Dublin to observe the way he lives and trains. Last but not least, sportsmen, generally, have a relatively succinct career span, so they deserve to take the most of it. In conclusion, despite the plausible arguments to the contrary, I feel that the amount of money athletes earn is substantiated.