In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in water, so people think that they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The severity of rubbish has been highlighted over the past decades. From this aspect, questions about whether plastic shopping bags are the major sources of rubbish, causing contamination on land and in water, have led to individuals thinking that governments should ban the use of plastic shopping bags. In my opinion, each nation should implement such a ban to some extent. Irrefutably, the amount of rubbish is reduced. This is because, with the implementation of plastic bag regulations, manufacturing factories produce fewer plastic bags and customers are more likely to use reusable bags to comply with these regulations. This obviously encourages individuals to stop using disposable bags and this in turn brings about supporting environmental recovery, particularly in terms of soil quality. What is more, although the convenience of plastic products cannot be overlooked, these products exert a negative influence on marine creatures. In actual fact, environmental undertaken by experts have revealed that countless plastic bags have accumulated beneath the oceans, threatening not only sea creatures' habitats but also natural food chains. This, therefore, deteriorates marine biodiversity, which significantly affects human food and lives. Nevertheless, producing plastic products is cheaper than using other materials. In other words, since plastic is one of the most efficient and transformable materials in the world, a majority of companies prefer to produce plastic items like vinyl bags for their income, so each corporation is more likely to earn substantial profits. To recapitulate, producing plastic products is cheaper than using other materials, but plastic bag regulations help reduce the amount of rubbish and mitigate negative impacts on marine creatures. Thus, each nation should enforce a ban on plastic shopping bags.