Homeschooling is becoming increasingly popular as more and more parents are choosing to educate their children in this way. Why do you think parents might choose homeschooling rather than traditional schools? Do you think homeschooling is more beneficial?

Education is fundamental to a child's development. Some parents, however, prefer educating their offspring at home rather than sending them to a state or private school. This essay will discuss why some parents opt for this and will explain my own view that traditional schooling is usually the best option. There are various reasons why some might believe that homeschooling is best for a child. The primary ones may be the convenience and comfort of learning in the home environment. Indeed, parents may feel that their child can learn more effectively when they feel safe and are less distracted by others. A further reason is that parents may believe that they are more aware of what their child needs, as well as his or her strengths and weaknesses. If, for instance, the child needs remedial reading help, the parent can concentrate on this whereas in a large class, such a matter may go unnoticed. Clearly, there are some attractions to homeschooling. In my view, however, traditional education is more beneficial. This is primarily because attending school involves more than just learning different subjects. As humans are social beings, there is no better place to learn to interact with others. Schools are places where friendships are formed and where young people leam to socialise and collaborate with their peers by, for example, joining a club or team and participating in extracurricular activities. Even though homeschooled children may have their family close by, this is no substitute for the diverse and strong network that can be built at school. In conclusion, education is a crucial part of life. Although homeschooling has certain perks, education in a regular school environment is more beneficial in my view because of the fact that a child needs to develop not only academically but socially as well.