It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

The earlier we acquire a certain set of skills, the better we get at maintaining them. Thus, it is essential to educate younger generations at an early age. Several methods are being used, including punishment, in order to assure that the distinction between right and wrong is understood. In this essay, in addition to a discussion upon the necessity of punishing acts, different types of penalty to be allowed to be used by parents or teachers to encourage good demeanour will be explained. Punishment and its execution is a highly debatable topic. I certainly believe that it has a place in education only if it is cultivated with compassion, especially in the context of children. Research in the area shows that the sole act of punishing does more harm than good. For example, longer sentences in prison threaten the mental well-being of the criminal and harden being a decent citizen. As such, out-of-line methods for punishing at an early age decreases cognitional competency and reinforces problems in the future. All in all, retribution by itself is not the most practical solution. It is essential to affirm positive practice and discourage the unwanted, especially due to neuroplasticity. Primary and secondary educators of the next generations should base their methods firstly on congratulating positive acts. Whether it be the children themselves or another person around that they are able to observe, confirming that the right approach is to be appreciated shapes young minds in the ideal direction. When affirmative actions are run out of and the bad approach continues beyond expectation, constructive criticism could then be put into play. For example, if the kid is stealing money from their parents, buying chocolate and continuing doing so despite the best efforts, cancelling a long-expected visit to Disneyland while explaining that the money is limited and it cannot be spent on one thing would have an impact on the behaviour. Giving pocket money and asking them to spare to cover the next possible trip's expenses can be the following step. Long story short, rather than reinforcing bad practice through the misunderstood act of punishing, affirming positive actions and helping them to create new patterns of behaviour would be more beneficial. In summary, we learn through feedback to our actions. Although retribution has a history dating back to the first human, we need better ways to form a better future. Through reaffirmation of the wanted action, we can form more of it.