Some people think that to produce a happier society we must ensure that there is only a small difference in earning between the rich and the poor. To what extent do you agree?

According to some, income plays a vital role in the happiness of any society, and hence reducing the gap between the earnings among the rich and the poor members of society is key. In my opinion, I don't agree with this statement as I don't consider that income is the sole factor in the happiness of societies. To begin with, one must look at the factors which produce happy societies and these include income, security, health, education, and many more. If one factor such as income is unified among all the members of the society then this might have a negative impact on the other factors. For example, China was a communist country where the wages were almost the same! Yet, the effect on health and security was detrimental. Another point to consider is motivation. Once the members of society know that their limit of income is capped and that there is no possible potential for extra earning then they will be demotivated. For instance, a scientist will not be motivated to do research if he feels that he will not be rewarded and that his income will remain similar to the porter of the university. In conclusion, happy societies are not impossible to reach, however, the right mix of factors needs to be taken into consideration by their governments. Income, health, security and education all play major roles in the happiness of any society and we cannot prefer one factor at the expense of others even if this might not produce the society everyone is seeking.