In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Dual-income families have become a norm in today's society. While children are expected to benefit from their parent's extra funding, there are more compelling reasons why they would as well feel the lack of care resulting from their parent's absence. This essay will present an explanation for both points of view, together with giving a personal opinion. On the one hand, more budget to spend on the future generation would mean that they will receive a better education from the beginning. As an example, in more affluent households, children can be sent to international preschools or elementary schools, in which they can have early exposure to English and a more sophisticated educational system. This practice is proved to be advantageous to the development of their academic quality and English proficiency, yet usually costs much more than the normal facilities. As a result, it is often advised to earn more money to give children a preparation of prime quality for their future. On the other hand, doing more work to earn income also means that the time spent with children is kept to a minimum. This would lead to the lack of direct support and concern from parents to their offsprings, which is not ideal for the healthy growth of a child. For example, fathers that take expatriation in foreign countries can hardly be available for important family events, which would likely give the younger members of the house negative emotions. The intimacy from family, according to my view, is fundamental in building trust and confidence in a child, thus, their presence of parents in their son or daughter's childhood is of great spiritual importance to them. In conclusion, in order for young people to flourish holistically, they should be able to obtain both material and mental support from their parents. Therefore, in my opinion, fathers and mothers have to balance work time and quality time with their kids.