Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competitive? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, undergraduate is interested to join in reputed universities to pursue higher studies. This has been increased over the past decade. The impending essay will discuss why this competition increased and how this would be a negative development for society. There are numerous reasons behind the competition for the well-known colleges. To begin with, one of the prominent reasons are these academies have experienced professors from various countries. They know the academic subjects very well compared to the local college teachers; they can explain the subjects with practical examples. As a result, the scholar can gain both practical and theoretical knowledge on the subject. In addition, these institutes have the best facilities such as a library with all kinds of books and study materials, labs have well-equipped for experiments, and college buses used for transportation. For instance, according to one survey, they said that 50% of urban students are choosing their colleges because of the faculty and facilities. Hence, competitive exams are being written by a greater number of pupils for renowned organisations. Although the above-mentioned points are pros for the universities, it has some negatives. Firstly, they collect lakhs of rupees as a tuition fee from the students; owing to this, the poor could not afford to study. Secondly, a smaller number of educational institutions creating a high clash among the students. Some of the parents have a dream that their children should study in those colleges; while pressure is being increased by the parents to get the seat. Consequently, this can lead to a physical and mental imbalance in the pupils. Thus, it can create a social and financial burden on the parents. In conclusion, competition for university education is increasing rampantly because colleges providing the best facilities and faculties. However, the positive developments not outweigh the negative developments.