Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this cutting-edge era of technology where most of the information is shared using the internet as a medium; therefore, the majority of the public prefer to store their confidential data on social media platforms. This practice has several adverse consequences that would be discussed in the following paragraphs. Detrimental effects of storing personal detail on distinct platforms are increasing continuously worldwide and the threat to data privacy is the foremost one, which stimulates unethical organisations to access their individuals' details to satisfy their desire of greediness. For instance, a few years ago, Cambridge's Analytica was alleged by some notable personalities in India for using the personal details of users on Facebook, which is a prominent social media platform. Therefore, such insecurities are becoming omnipresent in the world of technology and users who save their private data on such portal are becoming the prey for such rogue firms. Moreover, tech-savvy devices have become quite economical, therefore, individuals who belong to destitute families possess these gadgets, which further has enhanced the dependency of the populace. For instance, people hesitate to lift their finger to write information on notebooks instead they use mobile applications to store relevant knowledge for future use. As a result, this shift has reduced the storage capacity of their brain due to which most of the time they seem it difficult to reminisce mobile numbers of their near and dear ones in case of smartphone theft. To recapitulate, although, technology has made the required information at their disposal as it is store on the internet yet associated adverse outcomes cannot be overlooked. Thus, it is a liability of the higher authorities to monitor activities on such platforms closely to avoid any security breaches.