In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In the past 100 years, with the advancement of technology, the overall lifespan of an individual rising in many countries. While this phenomenon leads to several issues like a financial strain on the government and unemployment, there exist several possible ways to ameliorate the situation that this essay puts forward. To begin with, the aged population creates various problems. The first one is that it will put a lot of burden on the country's economy. This means with older age, health-related issues also increase, and to tackle this, the government spends taxpayer money. Sometimes, additional tax has been taken to reduce this financial pressure, which ultimately affects the citizens. Another problem for the older adults themselves is that they can lose their job before retirement. Indeed, ageing affects a human being's cognitive ability and brain functionality, resulting in poor productivity at work. Hence, the company prefers younger employees who show excellent work rates. Overall, the unemployment rate gets increases among the aged population. There are, however, some measures that can be taken to solve these issues. Firstly, the government should modify its tax and retirement policy. For example, the USA applies a considerable amount of tax on its citizens and, in return, at a particular age, takes care of all of them by providing monthly payments. Certainly, if individuals from their young life invest for their post-retirement life, they would get enough returns at their old age. Secondly, more job opportunities should be introduced for elderly citizens. Definitely, this group of dwellers has a better experience in their profession they have been working in, and the state authorities can use them in some appropriate situations. For instance, writers can be hired in the section of official press directed by the government. In conclusion, there is no doubt that life expectancy will continue to grow, and I believe that it will create challenges for the nations and the elderly themselves. However, if better preparations are taken by the seniors themselves and the government, the effect of these problems can be reduced to a great extent.