With growing populations in cities, more and more people live in homes with little or no outdoor space. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With increase in urban masses, many people reside in limited space not by choice but due to scarcity. There is hardly any scope for recreational activities, in this essay I will highlight some of the demerits of living in large city. To begin with, big cities provide ample of opportunities in terms of job, ease of access to basic amenities & other social security measures. This attracts many people from rural areas which inturn increases burden on city infrastructure leaving no room for open land. For instance, in last couple of decade major cities in India have been overly populated and there has been manifold increase in migration of people from small town to big cities. This add pressure on city administration to provide shelther to all the people by cutting down trees and farmlands. Furthermore, kids have more vulnerable impact from this as they tend to live in smaller space like flat. There is little or no open parks for them to play and get involved in physical activities which is crucial for their development. Many youngsters spend time on screen to compensate their outdoor activities. As per latest study, on an average small kids spend daily three to four hours in front of either computer or mobile devices which ulitmately have negative impact on their eyes and brain. As a result, youth of todays' generation has tend to gain weight and become lazy which affects their overall health. To summarise, cities should unquestionaly have open places for recreational and physical activities which is a need of the hour. In order to avoid excessive burden on cities administration should develop other small cities and provide basic facilities alongwith job and security measures which will result in decrease in migration of masses and ultimately benefitting larger towns.