More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Utility goods such as apparels and vehicles of well-known brands are increasingly favoured by consumers. It is mostly down to the desire for higher product quality and the reliability of the brand names, and in my view, this is a positive trend for several reasons. To begin with, popular labels attract a great number of customers primarily because of the extensive properties of their products. To illustrate, clothes from the top brands are much more durable, and well-known car labels often offer superior safety assurance compared to that of middle-range products. Moreover, brand reputation often goes together with thorough customer review, therefore buyers can avert retail frauds, namely fraudulent advertising or over-exaggeration of product quality, which happen within purchases from smaller and unrecognised brand names. As a result, more customers are enticed to the use of famous-branded merchandises in today's time. In general, the practice is proved to be a favourable movement for the community. To further explain, the shift towards a premium range of goods would force manufacturers to invest in their production to keep up with the quality-driven demand, thus discourage possible violation of business ethics. Additionally, the trend is an impulse towards a greener age of consumerism, because it would rule out some environmentally hazardous businesses from the market, the fast-fashion industry as an example. The only worth-mentioning negative impact would be the rise to the monopoly of some dominant brands, which is controllable by the government and trade policies. In conclusion, the two most prominent reasons as to why people purchase products from famous companies are trustworthiness and the need for higher-class product qualities. The development is positive to society at large, despite the only drawback being the chance it may turn a company into a monopolistic one.