Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest times of most people's lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Being happy is one of the most amazing feelings that humans can witness. Few believe that the adolescent age is the one where people are the most joyful. While, others contradict and think that adulthood is the more delightful period of life. However I stand impartial, according to me, happiness is not dependent on the age factor but on the nature of an individual. It completely varies from person to person. Since teenagers are usually more carefree than their older generation, they tend to be happier. The reason for this is the lack of responsibilities on their shoulders. For instance, they need not earn for the whole family in order to meet the expenses. Another reason for their cheerfulness is that they are surrounded by many friends. It is a proven fact that companionship brings affection in human beings due to which our body releases a hormone called oxytocin. This hormone is responsible for the increased happiness. On the contrary, adults are mature people. So, they generally have a better understanding of life which the adolescents lack. When there is a maturity to understand different situations of life, people tend to attain satisfaction and more cheerful life despite having greater responsibilities. In many complicated situations like a divorce, people do get hurt but since they know that life does not stop, they move on. Hence, with this attitude of seeking betterment, individuals find happiness. In conclusion, in my opinion, happiness is the choice of an individual. There are many who remain joyful throughout their lifetime as they have humorous personalities. This feeling comes from within. Nevertheless, the world still stands polarized on this issue.