Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

A significant portion of foodstuffs produced in other regions has been imported by a number of nations. This essay will discuss why purchasing crops and cereals from other countries can be more beneficial, despite a few problems of being dependent too much on the other states. To begin with, higher reliance on the imported foodstuffs might be detrimental to any country as it can make the economy unstable at any time. The exporting countries always give priority to the consumption of their own citizen and only export excess products after meeting their local demand, which is why the importing states may face a grim situation at the time of lower production season. Consequently, a nation could face famine and starvation when an exporter country seizes or lower international trade. To illustrate, Bangladesh, one of the large consumer of onion, buy a considerable portion of onion from its neighbouring state India. Owing to the seasonal ban of the government of India on exporting onion, the price of onion soars almost every year. Countries should, therefore, consume less imported foodstuffs to deal with this kind of situation. On the other hand, the availability of food ingredients from other countries can assist in avoiding the problems of the scarcity of foodstuffs. Since the production of different agricultural and farming items varies significantly from country to country owing to the difference in the geographical pattern and climate, trading food elements among the countries enables the people to consume food items produced in overseas lands. As a result, the food -related social and regional crisis has been considerably reduced. For instance, the propensity for famine and food shortage has been significantly reduced in African countries owing to the availability of foreign food products. Thus, selling and buying food manufactured and cultivated in other countries is the reasons for hunger eradication and reduction of the inequalities in food distribution among the countries. In conclusion, almost all society of the world purchase food elements from foreign countries. This essay discussed that the trend of importing food from other regions has many positive aspects for society although it has few negative sides.