Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that nowadays, many countries have a tendency to import foreign food. From my perspective, this trend has both positive and negative developments. To begin with, I strongly believe that importing food from different parts of the world is an affirmative development. This is because,by virtue of this policy from the government, inhabitants living in that nation will be beneficial. To be more specific, they will have a wider range of choices when they go to markets, supermarkets or groceries to purchase food and most importantly, the diversity of food options may also help them buy products having reasonable costs with their budget. For instance, last year, when the cost of pork meat in my country was high, immediately Vietnam government allowed to import pork meat from different nations such as America, Thailand or Laos and thanks to this decision, Vietnamese people not only had better and more suitable choices, but also did not have to concern about the cost of pork meat. However, importing foreign food has also its own drawback. This can be explained by the reason that if the quality of that imported one is low, particularly the food safety is not guaranteed due to the deficiency of careful verification from the authority, consumers in that country will be negatively affected. To be more detailed, they will be more likely to become vulnerable to a lot of serious diseases, therefore weakening people’s health directly. In conclusion, with all the reasons mentioned above, I suppose that imported food has its own advantage as well as its own disadvantage.