Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn’t do that as children can read books or watch TV, movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Parents are the most important factor in the upbringing of a child. Some advocates believe that stories should be read or told to children by their parents, while others are of the opinion that it is not necessary as children can watch tv or movies or read books by themselves. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and share my personal opinion in this regard. On the one hand, people say that reading or telling a book story can help children to understand values. This is because when parents read out these stories, they try to relate them with the practical aspect of society and teach a child how to behave by understanding the moral of the chapter. For instance, it is widely known that the story of rabbit and turtle, which is based on the laziness of rabbit, is a very good example to relate with a personal life that if we become lazy we can lose our success. Furthermore, if children are not given attention, they tend to play video games or watch TV for hours and hours; as a result, this may cause damage to the eyes and may also lead to a headache. Thus, few advocates support this notion. On the other hand, the detractors do not agree with the aforementioned standpoint, because they think that adolescent should become independent by doing things themselves. The reason for this is if parents spoon-feed them all the time, then they will never do their things on their own such as reading a book or watching a movie. In other words, this can give them a sense of independence and can generate inner confidence. For example, when a child will read different books of different genres, they grasp the good thing about the story and try to copy the same in their life. Not only this can develop confidence but also they can learn different skills such as dancing, singing and craft, by watching art shows on TV. Hence, it becomes apparent that performing things by themselves may help adolescent. In conclusion, some guardians may find the idea of reading or telling stories to their offspring a good way of raising children but others might feel that this could restrict the confidence level which can be built otherwise if they read a book or watch TV by themselves. I believe that guardians should tell stories to their youngsters so that they are always guided by the right personnel.