The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology which can prevent and solve crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, the number of crimes committed worldwide has plunged compared with the past years. This could be attributable to the introduction of technology. This essay will show why I agree with this view and will show specific examples related to this trend. To some extent, tools as technology are not sufficient in the fight against crime. First, in some poor countries where technological advances are not affordable, criminals are having total liberty to commit illegal actions. That is the case of some countries in South America, where even with the presence and use of technology, the crime rate is still increasing. Moreover, thieves are constantly improving their techniques for stealing. For instance, they can deceive security cameras by covering their faces or changing their physical appearance. Consequently, the authorities cannot identify who is committing the crime. There is no doubt that technology has contributed significantly to the decline of crimes, but there are still other factors involved that technology cannot overcome. However, technology has provided more opportunities to the authorities to stop crime. Because of the internet, people suspected of committing crimes are caught faster, which stop them from committing other offensive actions. In addition, thanks to the creation of telephones, people now can record illegal actions or behaviours of anyone in society, making things easier for the police since they will have real pieces of evidence to place charges on criminals. Lastly, in some dangerous neighbourhoods, where the access is tough, authorities now can use drones to chase criminal, spot drug cartels and avoid children sexual abuse, all of this, without risking their lives. In conclusion, although in some cases technology is not sufficient to stop crimes, it has positively impacted the reduction of committed crimes. I believe that in the future, technology could eventually overcome and erase the occurrence of crimes.