Many governments are investing less in roads and more in public transport systems. Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

In today's world, governments are investing more money in order to develop more public transport rather than building roads. Both means of transport are equally important in modern society but, I think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. I will explain my reasoning in this essay. Nowadays, people choose to have their own means of transport which is harmful to the environment. I think if we use other ways of travelling such as train, buses to go to work or nearby place, it would reduce environmental pollution. In addition to this, it will reduce traffic on the roads. For example, there are 4 people in my house who have the same company they work for but instead of going,together they choose to take their own vehicle. This increase the traffic and they usually take more time to reach their destination. However, if we all took other means to travel, for instance, train or bus it would be more convenient and will have less pollution. Moreover, people also take their own vehicle because public transport is not frequently available. And if, the government develop more public systems to travel, then I think individuals will choose those over their own cars. In conclusion, I think it's better to invest more in public systems. Also, there is more advantage of having public transport, which is more than their disadvantages.