Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Multinational companies who have a big budget to invest in promoting their product and getting it aired on the tv ads attract a lot of people towards buying their product. Some of the problem and solution will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, global business giants have started capturing the market in the small towns and villages as well. Since they offer huge discounts on the products, they attract a lot of buyers. At first, it seems to be beneficial but, actually it is not as it is directly affecting the local businesses and local economy. To quote an instance, many local vendors have lost their livelihood because they have no buyers for their product and they don’t have big budgets to get their product advertised on radio or television or a newspaper. Getting a product advertising plays a vital role in the market for its consumption. Secondly, the local businesses, however, can not compete with big giant companies by giving huge discounts and deals on their product but by understanding the exact demand and needs of the customer they can get to the roots of the market and get a good deal out of it. Moreover, if the small trading owners maintain a high quality of the product they can gain a lot of consumers and it will get them into a better position in comparison with big giant companies. To conclude, the aggressive marketing strategies employed by the MNCs lead to the downfall of the products sold by the local traders. The government should take necessary actions to promote businesses and products sold locally.