Some people argue that history is of little or no use to us. Others believe that studying history gives many benefits. Discuss those views and give your own opinion.

The world stands polarized when it comes to the topic of studying history. Where few believe that it is an insignificant subject as it talks about the events from the past. While others think that it holds many advantages like knowledge about our aborigines and their struggles. Moreover, I too stand by the belief in the immense importance of history in our lives. Since history is the situations about ancient times, some people feel that it is not crucial to read about it because it is the wastage of precious time of individuals to think about the events that have nothing to do with the present. For instance, countries like India and Pakistan still hold grudges against each other due to the battles they fought against each other in the past. This immense tension between the two nations is affecting their relations which in turn has been affecting the trades. The whole situation, ultimately, causing a bad impact on their economy. For these reasons it is better to let go of the past and focus on the future. On the contrary, there are several positive aspects of learning about past occurrences. Not only the youth can attain knowledge about their roots but also can learn lessons from the mishappenings from the past. The information about our natives can help us to know more about the struggles that they went through as well as this can motivate the young generation to do better in their lives. Additionally, scientists are able to learn more about genetic diseases by studying our ancestral pathophysiology. In my opinion, history is crucial to know about the disasters that occurred in the past so that humans might learn and improve from them. To cite an example, the great tragedy of Chernobyl where the nuclear explosion engulfed the whole of Europe is still one of the scariest stories prevailing in our minds. Because of this unfortunate event, many countries have decided to use nuclear waste strategically. Hence, the disaster from the past acts like true teachings for society. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons of studying history as it is both a boon and a bane to the world. Ones who are against it, says that it is degrading our time and minds. However, others and I think that it should be included in our teachings as there is a lot to learn from it.