Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it. This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life. To what extent do you agree with this view? What other things can people do in order to have a satisfying working life?

There is no doubt that university degree choice is one of the most important decisions of a high school student. While some people believe that a career path should be decided right before a person starts college, others argue that this is not necessarily true since people tend to change their minds once they get in touch with different perspectives. I tend to agree with the latter and will explain some aspects that influence an individual's work satisfaction. Firstly, professionals that keep to the same career path since their early decision tend to be lazier and do not challenge themselves as time goes by. The reason for this is that they decide to take a career path that, at first, could be harder to get in but it tends to be more predictable once they get in. To illustrate this point, in Brazil it is common to see recent graduate students whose focus is to get a more stable job, especially in the public sector. As a result, although they have a more stable financial condition, it is clear to see that their daily working routine can become extremely tedious. To avoid that, they should experience different university experiences before deciding on a specific career. In addition, the working environment is much more dynamic than it used to be a few generations ago. In the past, workers used to be at the same company until retirement. Nowadays, we see individuals who change jobs quite frequently. This happens mainly because of the consequence of globalization. Companies are being created from scratch, especially tech ones, and this ends up attracting talents to work on those disruptive markets. For example, disruptive tech companies, such as Uber and Airbnb, are still a few years old, and it is not hard to see a marked movement of professionals towards those companies. As a consequence, workers tend to challenge themselves in a fast-paced learning environment and this results in higher satisfaction at work. In conclusion, although an early career decision might be more satisfying for specific groups, I believe that experiencing multiple career paths gives more flexibility and also encourages professionals to always challenge themselves and keep up to date with their respective field knowledge areas.