Some scientists believe that in the future computers will be more intelligent than human beings. While some see this as a positive development others worry about the negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion.

First introduced to human life several decades age, computers have progressed at a breakneck speed and it is believed by scientists that they will surpass human beings in their level of intelligence in the foreseeable future. Although there are certain advantages to computers being more intelligent than us, in my opinion the overall effect is negative at large. Those who consider computers ` advanced level of intelligence to be positive often point to the conveniences it may bring to our life. Having a computer capable of carrying out tasks with amazing degree of accuracy could revolutionize certain fields, say medicine. For example, surgery operations could be performed without flaws by tailor-made robots, while occasional inaccuracies are likely to emerge when done by people. Additionally, advanced artificial intelligence would allow production companies to be more efficient cutting down on labor costs. Thus it is easy to think that unprecedented development of computers is a positive one. However plausible these ideas might appear, I am in broad agreement with those who believe such development is negative in general. Despite alleviating labor, computer technology could completely substitute human work in the long-term, leaving millions of people unemployed. Given the speed at which the technology is making headway, it is no wonder that we will soon see robots being employed almost in every field. Such loses are particularly visible in the lives of ordinary people who make ends meet by doing casual works in agriculture. If those people are replaced by technology, they will have no other alternative but to transition from low-skilled factory staff to data analysts and other white-collar workers. To conclude, computers with intelligence superior to human beings will definitely be of great benefit to the development of certain fields. Considering its delirious effects on employment, I think overall effect is damaging though.