There have been many advances in technology over the past fifty years. These have revolutionised the way we communicate with people who are far away. Compare and contrast methods of communication used today with those which were used in the past.

Nowadays, we have at disposal many different types of tools that provide communication with distant people, thanks to technological progress. Instead, in the past, there were other means of communications, similar to first for some formal aspects and different in rapidity and variety of choices. This essay will explain both similarities and contrasts between the two different type of transmission. To begin with, one of the old means to send a message to far people is a telegram which could be compared to SMS, for brief of text and lexical form. For instance, similarly to telegrams, also in SMS abbreviations are used. Moreover, another wrote message frequently employed in the past was a letter, just like actual mail, which is more formal and longer in text. In fact, both letter and mail have a precise structure, organization of textual space and recurrent formulas to begin and end. Also, vocal contact is remained similar from the past to present, before by landline and cellular now. On the other hand, there are crucial differences between telegrams, letters, and SMS, mail, in terms of speed of information exchanged, from hours or days to seconds or minutes. In addition to this, cellular is really different from the fixed-line because compacted and mobile, so we can have cellular in our pocket all the time. But the most relevant advantage of a mobile phone in comparison to the older one is the video call function, which allows seeing each other, in real-time, wherever you are. In conclusion, in the present time, technology provides many advantageous tools that make easier and more efficient the conversation all over the world, than it was fifty years ago, it could be considered a great result.