The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine, Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

State funds should be increased more for the prevention of health problems rather than for treatment and medicine. In my opinion, I agree that government funding ought to be increased in healthcare prevention, as this will greatly benefit both individuals and society. A good reason to raise funds for prevention is that precaution gives people, from all walks of life whether rich or poor, equal rights. In other words, if preventive care services are not funded, a lot fewer people will have access to them because they are unable to pay for the service. This excludes a large proportion of society and is discriminatory which can be avoided by getting rid of healthcare fees. Another point to consider is that increased funds for healthcare precaution will benefit society in the long run, for the simple reason that more prevention means more healthy population. This will result in decreasing the number of ill people and, as a consequence, the need for treatment and medicine. For instance, there has been a high percentage reduction in the sale of cigarettes after the government launched the campaign where it decided to print on every single packet of cigarettes pictures of consequences of smoking in our body. This has helped both states and people to save money which otherwise would have gone into treating illnesses related to smoking. In conclusion, I firmly believe that health is the greatest asset of a nation and that authorities should spend more on encouraging prevention as it will help people to stay healthy and to save money on medical bills. Moreover, the cost of increased funds for prevention will be recovered many times over by the benefits this will bring.