Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that investments in space projects are a waste of money. For these people, the money of taxpayers should be spent in other areas to bring more benefits to citizens. I agree with this point of view and this essay will explain the reasons. It is known that the budget of the government is finite and it is not possible to invest in all fields at the same amount and at the same time. As a consequence, public authorities have to make choices and define priorities. So, in my opinion, investments in subjects such as poverty and health, for example, are more important, from the perspective of the population, than sending a new rocket to the Moon or to Mars. Furthermore, there are several urgent problems like climate change and global warming to be addressed as soon as possible. As the sources of money are limited, the government should make decisions to help more people. On the other hand, there is no doubt that researches in space exploration bring some improvements in technology and innovations. There are many examples of new products developed due to the massive investments in the exploration of the universe. For instance, we can cite spirographic pens, microwave ovens, and satellite communication. Another good example is the huge evolution of computers in the last decade. All in all, to conclude, I think that despite the investments in space exploration bringing some advantages, there are other areas much more urgent to invest the money of people. As mentioned before, elimination of poverty and environmental issues should be the priority.