It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Crime is a growing problem in modern societies, and is usually linked with poverty and unemployment. Juvenile crime, in particular, has risen in the last decades. Some think that it is especially due to exposure to violence in the media. Indeed, radio, television, newspapers and internet are violence This essay will primarly agree that violence showed in the media is the main reason for the rise seen in juvenile crime and will describe some measures to deal with this situation. Everyday people are bombarded with violence in the news. Terrorism and violent crimes are all over the news all time. Besides that a considerable exposure to violence can also occur in online videogames. Actually, a lot of young people watch television and play videogames without any adult supervision nowadays. However, other conditions such as family environment and peers' influence have a major importance in the behaviour of children and adolescents. As a result, dysfunctional families and peers can influence behaviour and lead to juvenile crime. Some measures can be taken to try to reduce exposure of young people to violence, and, thus, tackle juvenile crime. Parents or carers should supervise young children and adolescents while they are watching television and playing videogames. Whenever needed, adults should limit exposure to violence from such sources in order to protect young people Furthermore, adults should give proper explanations and be available to talk in order to help process violent scenes. In conclusion, youth crime is an increasing problem, primarly due to exposure to violence in the media. Dysfunctional families and peers' influence also contribute to the rise in juvenile crime. Adults have a fundamental role in controlling access to violence in the media, and, thus, reducing juvenile crime.