The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In recent times, some folks predict that English will be the only worldwide spoken language due to tourism growth. However, certainly, It has some advantages such as more opportunities and economic development, but it also has some drawbacks. To begin with, only one language in this world indeed have several benefits. First of all, there will be no language barrier for an individual to grow, especially those who want to study and work overseas. For example, It is a requirement for multinational companies for understanding the English language as much software is written in English only. So, for working with them, it essential to have a good command of this language. Moreover, Economic growth also gets affected as understanding between two people in business will increase, directly affecting import-export More one country export more their economic growth will happen. Despite the plus points, minus points should be taken into consideration. One of them would be a lack of linguistic diversity. Some individuals, especially those who love languages, would feel lame when everyone worldwide speaks the same linguistic system. Another drawback would be people who are gifted at learning languages could not utilize their innate talent. Thus, using one language only would be a waste for their potentials to become outstanding language learners. To summarize, were there just English, people would comfortably enjoy themselves in foreign countries, be well-informed about news and develop countries. In contrast, this trend would not advantageous to humans’ languages intelligence and linguistic variety.