Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A great number of holidaymakers are now visiting different countries for leisure purpose. It is widely claimed that this type of vacation trips has many negative influences on the destination countries. This essay will argue why hosting many tourists has more drawbacks for a state than the advantages. To begin with, attracting travelers from other countries has certainly beneficial for the economy of a country. Since visitors from overseas often spend a considerable amount of money at the time of travelling, the economy of a tourist destination can grow rapidly from the earning of foreign currency. Consequently, the government can spend more on the infrastructural development of a country that helps to flourish the economy further. For example, Nepal, one of the tourist traps of South Asia, is earning approximately 85 percent of national budget from its tourists. The GDP of Nepal has been rising significantly in last five years with the increase of number of tourists. Thus, the overall economy of a holiday destination can be expanded by hosting travelers. On the other hand, despite a reason of economic advancement of holiday destination, facilitating too many tourists can be detrimental to the environment and biodiversity of a region. As holidaymakers may generate a massive amount of rubbish during their trip, disposal of this produced wastage can be a challenging task for a host country. Moreover, mismanagement of waste and irresponsible littering of tourist can have a massive impact on the environment and biosphere of a state. For instance, Maldives, one of the coastal countries, has failed to mitigate water pollution and protect natural environment due to the soaring amount of plastic rubbish. Overall atmosphere as well as wildlife of tourist destinations is, therefore, exploited significantly owing to the rise of tourist in an area. In conclusion, the increasing number of tourist can create many troubles to a tourist destination, including environmental pollution and wildlife exploitation. As far as I am concerned, I completely agree that tourists are hampering the natural environment vigorously that was once un-spoilt.