Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A great number of holidaymakers are now visiting different regions for leisure purpose. It is widely claimed that this type of vacation trips has many negative influences on the destination countries. This essay will argue why hosting many sightseers has more drawbacks for a state than advantages. To begin with, attracting travellers from other lands has certainly beneficial for the economy of a country. Since tourists from overseas often spend a considerable amount of money at the time of travelling, the economy of a visitors destination can grow rapidly from the earning of foreign currency. Consequently, the government can spend more on the infrastructural development of a country that helps to flourish the economy further. For example, Nepal, one of the tourist traps of South Asia, is earning approximately 85 per cent of the national budget from its tourists. The GDP of Nepal has been rising significantly in the last five years with the increase in the number of visitors. Thus, the overall economy of a holiday haven can be expanded by hosting travellers. On the other hand, despite a reason of economic advancement of a holiday haven, facilitating too many foreigners can be detrimental to the surroundings and biodiversity of a region. As holidaymakers may generate a massive amount of rubbish during their trip, disposal of this produced wastage can be a challenging task for a host country. Moreover, mismanagement of waste and irresponsible littering of tourist can have a massive impact on the environment and biosphere of a state. For instance, the Maldives, one of the coastal states, has failed to mitigate water pollution and protect the natural environment due to the soaring amount of plastic rubbish. The overall atmosphere and wildlife of travellers destinations are, therefore, exploited significantly owing to the rise of tourism in an area. In conclusion, the increasing number of visitors can create many troubles for a tourist destination, including environmental pollution and wildlife exploitation. As far as I am concerned, I completely agree that sightseers are hampering the natural environment vigorously that was once un-spoilt.