Outline the ways in which brain function can be improved; consider approaches such as exercise and playing mental agility games as well as diet. How effective do you think these suggestions are in preventing age-related brain degeneration?

It is true that age-related brain diseases are growing in numbers over the past few decades. It has been claimed by some professionals that physical activity, a healthy diet, and mind games can improve brain function. In my,opinion all the above practices can delay or prevent age-related brain damages. This essay will explore my view in more details. A healthy diet is one of the main factors to prevent the brain from ageing and degeneration. It has been shown by many researchers that food containing high Omega3 fatty acids like fish, whole grains and vegetables can prevent Alzheimer among elderlies. When combined with exercise, a healthy diet can be even more effective in reducing age-related diseases. Recent data from the University of California showed that by combining a diet containing high Omega3 fatty acids and vegetables with at least 30 min mild physical activities per day, we can reduce the number of degenerative brain diseases related to age by 30 per cent. Thus, it is obvious that both diet and exercise have crucial roles in preventing brain damages due to age. Last but not least, brain games are also considered to be one of the best practice to prevent and delay brain ageing and degeneration in the old population. Based on neuroscientific researches, elderlies who play Chess, solve crosswords or play online mind games like Candy Crash are less likely to develop age-related brain conditions. Moreover, this is actually true due to the fact that those activities stimulates all the neurons in the brain and keep them active, preventing them from dying. While people who do not use to train their brain on day to day basis, are more prone to acquire age-related brain damages simply because their brain neurons decline in number over time. To sum up, it is my belief that having a diet full of healthy vegetables and fish, daily activities, and playing mind-stimulating games not only can improve brain power, they can also reduce our chance of getting age-related brain damages.