Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others. However, argue that circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account. Discuss both side and give your opinion.

A crime is the result of series of an event which either happened in the heat of the moment or is well pre-planned. The judicial system of every country investigates before sentencing appropriate punishment to the culprit. Few people feel that every crime must have a pre-determined punishment. However, I disagree with this opinion and will discuss both sides of the coin in this essay. Pre-determined punishment helps in creating fear in those who think of committing a crime. Thereby, reducing the crime rate, and accelerating the delivery of justice to those who are affected. For example, if hang till death becomes the only punishment in case of raping a woman, no one will dare to commit such a crime out of fear. Therefore, this idea seems quite logical and sensible to give it a thought. However, people argue that every crime is not done on purpose. Certain unavoidable circumstances force a law-abiding citizen to violate the law and gets charged in criminal proceedings. For instance, a person in his efforts to save an attack on himself had to kill the attacker in self-defence. Though he had to murder to save his life, he still is considered a murderer. Hence, with pre-determined punishments, he has to serve the punishment, which defeats the purpose of justice. Hence, it is really important to take the circumstance factor into account To sum up, taking into account the arguments on both sides, though fixed punishment seems more logical, but not considering circumstances under which the crime happened, will dilute the respect for justice. Therefore, the pre-determination of punishment for every crime does not hold good.