Many people think that the best way to learn a culture is to learn the language of it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this globalized world, the interaction between nations has been increased. Therefore, the significance of understanding the culture of other countries becoming larger. Some people say that to learn the language of the country is the most effective way to learn new culture. In the following essay, I would argue both sides and state that I tend to agree with the idea. First of all, since the customs is often represented in literature, it provides the individuals with opportunity to feel the custom of a country if they could read it. For example, there is a novel written by a Japanese author called “Three Days of Happiness”, and the protagonist told by his grandmother that he should take care of everything because God is in everything. This is an idea that is widespread in Japan. This shows that there is a culture that people in Japan believe that gods exist for everything. To sum up, by obtaining the language skill, it helps to know about a country’s tradition. Second of all, on the other hand, some individuals might say that there will be a better way to understand the foreign tradition. For instance, by actually visiting the nation and experiencing its traditions could be also a good way. Even if the individuals could not speak the tongue, the experience of seeing historical architectures or learning about traditional craftsmanship from local people may help them to understand the civilization. In my conclusion, the best way to know the foreign civilization is to obtain the language because it allows them to get the knowledge about the nation. Thus, I tend to agree with the idea.