People should look after their health as a duty to the society where they live, rather than their own benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the medicine has been developed because of recent advance of technology. This has made it possible for more people to live healthier and longer. On the other hand, it is also true that more individuals live unhealthy because of diseases that is related to their idle life. In the following essay, I would argue whether individuals should stay healthy for society or for their own advantages and state I tend to agree with the former. First of all, if people in society are not in good physical condition, it leads to other citizens’ lives more difficult. For example, in Japan, welfare accounts for the largest proportion of revenue and healthcare is around 40% of the total. This is a huge amount of money even now; however, if people do not live well and the number of patients increases, the tax that the government has to spend will raise. As a consequence, the tax rates will be increased. If this happens, the individuals need to pay more for tax and it will harm them economically. To sum up, the citizens should make an effort to maintain their well-being for society members. Second of all, moreover, taking care of one’s condition to benefit themselves is actually good for community. If citizens are in good condition, it means that they can engage in work without problems. Consequently, the productivity of labour force will increase and the social economy will run well. Thus, staying well for their own sake will ultimately benefit society too. In my conclusion, I agree with the idea that healthy life should be maintained for community to not to deteriorate other members. Furthermore, even though they try to benefit themselves, it also has good impact on society.