Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to secure a good job. Others believe that employers value work experience more than a university degree. Discuss both views and give your opinion

These days some believe that getting a degree from a university can help people broaden their job prosperities while others think that work experience should be valued much more in one's career path. This essay shall discuss both sides and provide relevant examples and reasons. On the one hand, there is ample evidence that a degree represents the amount of education one possesses, which means that having a degree is one of the most essential things while applying for a job. For instance, a recent survey has revealed that candidates for an occupation who had a university degree were much more successful than those who didn't, which means that with the advent of a university degree, employment opportunities are much higher. That is to say, a degree can demonstrate one's education and literacy in a specific major. On the other hand, there are many individuals who have unprecedented soft skills like communication, persuasion or creativity, which is as equally critical as academic attainments. For example, in many jobs not only an institutional degree is necessary, but also practical abilities like being able to interact with the customer, which is acquired with years of work experience. Hence, it is explicit that work experience shouldn't be underrated, since one can derive multifold skills and overcome insurmountable obstacles in previous occupations. To conclude, I strongly advocate that work experience is the most crucial aspect while applying for a job, due to the fact that exposure to diverse occupations is a long and valuable process.