In many Western countries, there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having no children?

Some people think that employers ought to give their employees more days off to encourage them to perform better. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement as this will affect both productivity and the company’s income. Admittedly, employees require holidays to charge up and get back to work with full energy. However, extra-long holidays can have an adverse effect on the employee’s performance and hence I don’t support them. To be more specific, the productivity of employees will be negatively impacted because taking long holidays will cause the work to pile up on their desks, and this will lead to unnecessarily delayed responses. For instance, according to research done by TAG Business Consultancy Group, employees who take longer holidays have 40% lower productivity as opposed to the ones who take standard length holidays. Another downside caused by too many days off is the direct impact on the firm’s income. This is because many firms depend directly on their employees as their main source of income, especially service-providing organizations. Not to mention that extra business can be gained when more staff, particularly customer-facing, are on duty. For example, EY Legal firm has cut 50% of its holidays in 2018 and compensated its staff with 20% raise, in other words, the company found out that lower holidays mean more money for them and consequently for their employees. While I don’t support cutting down breaks, I totally stand behind not giving too many of them. In conclusion, although some people think that too many days off can improve the performance of staff, I personally think that this might lead to spoiling them which could be detrimental to the company’s performance.