Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer-based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Choosing a field of study at school or at the graduate level is one of the most crucial decisions in one's life. It is believed that the majority of students are inclined towards opting for computer courses, while only a handful of them select to study science subjects. This selection is generally based on the demands of the current job situation. It is thus considered a positive approach because of its popularity and future prospects. One major reason why students choose to make their career in technology is the ever-growing demand for new software, applications and tools. Gone are the days, when computer was a luxury and was used only in the Information and Technological sector. Today, we are so dependent on this man-made machinery, that each task at work is computerised. Thus, an increase in the number of teenagers wanting to start learning it, right from school. This trend will definitely help the economy to grow due to the great employment opportunities it offers. For instance, all multi-national companies around the globe, recruit individuals having extensive computer backgrounds, knowledge and skills. In return, these computer experts are highly paid. This talent is not only recognised nationally but also students get an opportunity to work abroad and gain valuable experience. Additionally, each parent wants his child to have a secure future. So, they too, encourage their offspring to go for this popular stream of study rather than the conventional science studies. Moreover, salaries in the Technological field surpass the pay in the scientific domain. Consequently, science subjects are put on the back burner. In conclusion, choosing subjects at the undergraduate level entirely depends on the child's interest which is governed by the trending jobs and needs of modern society. This upcoming phenomenon contributes to the growth of the economy.