Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co- operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that kids should be taught to be competitive. However, there are some people who are against this view, instead they propose that kids should be educated about how to be cooperative. This essay will discuss both these views and will provide my own opinion. On the one hand, boosting a sense of competition in kids in certain areas might be beneficial. That is the case of children who practice sport, where a sense of competition is completely needed. Recent studies have proven that children who have a competitive spirit are more likely to have better results in sports, obtaining first positions in competition and winning titles. Moreover, when it comes to educational purposes, it is worthy to create a sense of competition in them, because they might potentially improve their academic performance and grades. If children learn how to be competitive from an early age, the same academic results could be obtained once they start university or further studies. On the other hand, avoiding children to be competitive might have better outcomes in their later life. Since a sense of competition might boost some bad values such as envy and anger, some parents prefer not to teach their kids about it. While competition might not teach kids how to lose or be in the second place, co-operation teaches them how to be comfortable if someone else overcome them at studies, work or sports competitions at the same time that teaching them how to help others to get better results or succeed. Lastly, there might be a point in their life where they will be part of a work or class group and to fit in it, co-operation will be the foremost value. In conclusion, a sense of competition is useful in some aspects of children ' life. However, it would be better if kids are taught to have a limited sense of it. In my opinion, co-operation is essential in our lives and compared with the competition, is of more importance and relevance in our lives.