Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The internet is an essential part of today’s society. While it is thought by some that it has enabled people to have stronger connections with one another, there are others who believe society has become fragmented. In my opinion, the internet has widened the gap between individuals. On the one hand, the internet made a major contribution to bring people together in a number of ways. Firstly, owing to countless online communities, it is easy for internet users to find others who share similar interests. For instance, platforms such as Facebook provide movie fans from all over the world with a place for discussions and the exchange of information. Secondly, online communication technology connects individuals located far away. Text messaging apps, video conferencing are common means of interaction between friends and family members. On the other hand, some argue that the opposite effects are seen because of the prevalence of online technology. Admittedly, the convenience of the internet has reduced the amount of time for face-to-face interactions. Consequently, people are more and more isolated physically even though they are connected online all the time. Furthermore, internet -based communication hinders the chances for building valuable relationships as there is a tendency that internet users fake their profiles or only post their highlights in life. As a result, the level of intimacy between individuals has declined. Finally, my own view is that the internet has amplified the feelings of isolation in each person. the vital part of a meaningful relationship is trustworthiness which is not likely seen online because the internet gives its users a higher chance to leave out certain information about themselves. For this reason, human connections formed online are shallow, promoting fragmentation in society. In conclusion, I feel that although the internet has multiple ways to connect people, bonds between individuals online are relatively vulnerable compared to those formed through real-life interactions. It is advisable that people strive for a healthy balance of online and face-to-face communication.