Some people store personal and private information online, including banking, contacts and addresses. Is it a positive or negative trend?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that some people have a tendency to update their personal and private data on the Internet, including banking, contacts and addresses. From my perspective, these are both positive and negative trends. To begin with, storing personal and private information on the Internet will lessen the risk of losing important information in real life. This can be explained by the reason that in some unpredictable situations, the possibility of vital information lost is extremely high, therefore, people need an effective solution to deal with it. For instance, natural disasters such as flood or tsunami may destroy a lot of houses and in such life-threatening situations, safety is always prioritized, so people will find all ways to protect their lives in lieu of striving to look for papers consisting of important information. As an inevitable consequence, people can lose them and take a great deal of time and effort to restore information about banking, contacts and addresses. However, updating personal and private data online has its own drawback. To be more specific, a huge amount of online users’ information may be stolen by hackers aiming at serving their bad intentions, one of them is selling that information to make money. In this case, people not only face financial loss but their daily life can also be affected negatively. For example, if hackers have information about the banking account of a wealthy person, they can hack that account to gain a significant amount of money, causing a huge financial loss for that person. In conclusion, with all the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that storing private and personal information online can be a positive as well as a negative trend.