Some people say that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Rewarding the school-going students is very essential in order to mould them into intelligent beings. In this context, some experts opine that educational institutions should give awards or medals to the students who perform the best in exams. But, other thinkers assert that the children who show progress should be given more recognition. I will discuss both these opinions and conclude with a personal view. On the one hand, it is said that the schools should appreciate the pupils who get the highest grade on the tests. This is done to motivate the learners to continue taking efforts and to score well in the coming exams too. Further, the toppers take painful efforts and work hard to fare well in the exams and thus, should be rewarded accordingly. Hence, the rank holders ought to be given respect and consideration so that they maintain their performance. On the other hand, there is a need to recognise the progress made in the grades rather than simply rewarding the student who tops the class. This is so because the growth in the performance should be appreciated as there is improvement in the output. To elaborate, a pupil is required to change his method while preparing for the exam to score better marks in the next attempt. So, the strategies or methods are sought to change the outcome which is a difficult task and thus, should be compensated with. In short, though it is necessary to praise the students who get high grades in any examination, it is more pertinent to recognise the positive change or growth in performance.