Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisements are playing a major role in the marketing industry nowadays. Some people believe that advertisements promote new innovative products which may improve our lifestyle while others argue that they make us purchase unnecessary things. However, I strongly believe that the latter view is correct, as will be explained. In the modern world, there is a new product developed to satisfy our each and everyday needs. Ranging from cleaning devices to technological equipment, they improve our living standards and make our lives simpler. Only through advertising, people get to know about the existence of these devices. For instance, I saw an advertisement on television about a vacuum cleaner and the immense benefits it offers which made me want to buy one for myself. These instances make people argue that advertisements enhance our lifestyle. Though the commercials have brought us awareness about a wide range of products, the marketing industry is exploiting them. It lures consumers to buy cheap and unwanted things by giving huge discounts and sales. Even celebrities and social media influencers were paid a considerable sum of money to promote their commodities. For example, a news article studied that a majority of women have fallen prone to cosmetic posters which affected their overall health. These are some examples that show how consumers are deceived and purchases unwanted things. In conclusion, the minor advantages will never prevent us from advocating that commercials lure consumers to purchase ineffective and less needed products because of their so-called discounts and the effects of celebrities and their boastful descriptions.