A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seems important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, it seems that personal wealth and position in society are the only bases on which a person’s merit is judged. Sadly, I think it is true, nowadays in our society appearance is everything and, unfortunately, traditional values are no longer important. There are several reasons why I agree with this statement. Firstly, the society in which we live is deeply interested in looks; we are “bombarded” with images over and over again which impose us, unconsciously, a model that we have to adhere to. In other words, individuals love following celebrities on social media, admiring and coveting their wealthy lifestyle possessions. People have this misguided notion that they are idols to emulate, and it is very sad that people do not want to accept that their “perfect” life, in reality, is not true. To demonstrate how much our life is conditioned from an image, a teacher along with a group of students conducted a survey sending two CVs, exactly the same but attaching two different pictures of the candidates (one with a picture of a girl who looked very nice and the other CV with a picture of an overweight girl). The result was that two out of three times, the nice-looking girl was called for an interview. Secondly, it is noticeable that teens are the most vulnerable section of our society. For them appearance is everything and, if for any reason someone cannot afford to buy branded clothes or simply does not care about these trivial things, then he is negatively judged and kicked out of the group. Persons are judged for worthless things, such as hairstyle, outfit, makeup, model of phone, car, house... Finally, even if nowadays aspect is everything, people still care about traditional values. For instance, those who do volunteer work or charity do so because they want to help people and still believe in moral values. These actions are highly valued by modern society. In conclusion, I firmly believe that today our society is too influenced by the appearance and personal possessions. Therefore, we must teach our young generations about old values such as honour, kindness and trust, in order for them to thrive and succeed in the future.