A number of People are moving from rural areas to cities. Is it a positive or a negative development?

The trend of people migrating from villages to cities can be observed in today’s world. However, in my opinion, it is a positive development because of better job facilities and increased living standards of individuals. One of the key reasons behind this scenario is that people are getting more job opportunities in cities rather than in rural areas. This is because there are a number of industries and companies established in the cities where people from faraway places can apply for the job in these firms according to their skills sets and education. When they get a job there, they move to these areas. In this, way it helps reduction of unemployment. For example, a research conducted by the University of London showed that urban areas had 70% more employment as compared to the countryside. Moreover in cities, the standard of living of the people is raised. The reason behind that people is getting good wages and can satisfy their basic needs. In addition to this, the increase in purchasing power for luxury items, branded products and other amenities can make their life easier. Along with this, they are able to get good health services, higher education and can invest for their future. Hence, it might improve the economic GDP rate of the country. For instance, Had my cousin not got a high-paying job at Genpact in a metropolitan city, he would not have provided better education to his children while living in a backward area. In conclusion, as the cities are presenting better employment and good lifestyle of the people compared to villages, I am convinced that urbanization is a constructive development