In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In certain countries, it is considered by some that spending a large amount of money is necessary to build new railway lines while others would rather invest in the development of still exist but oldest public transport system. The fore-mentioned option seems to be right in that case when the country likes to create a connection between two busy spots. Although, the repair of the existing ones would be a solution to environmental protection. Establishing new railway lines could be beneficial to the economics. To understand this viewpoint, we have to take into consideration the difficulty of an expanding country. Due to the growing population, more commuters require some kind of help if they live far from the closest station, have to change a lot, do not have a car to drive. Thus, with new, modern lines people would be happier because of the fast and convenient travel experience. Such a little change can boost the workforce too with less stress and tiredness of workers being more productive. On the other hand, because of the condition of the current railway network, some people use their automobile instead of public transport which leads to more carbon dioxide emission causing air pollution. Moreover, due to a lot of drivers, people have to deal with problems like a traffic jam, lack of parking lots leading to a stressful lifestyle which is also damaging the work morale. Hence, spending money on improvements would help to reduce drivers on the roads and all the bad effects it has. To conclude, both options have those own benefits economically mostly. However, in my opinion, I would choose to spend money on improvements not just for the reason to protect the environment but also it is the cheaper way of innovation.